The Lord's Supper is the "bread and fruit of the vine", Mt. 26:26, 29; the "communion", I Cor. 10:16; the "Lord's Table", I Cor. 10:21; and the "Lord's Supper", I Cor. 11:20. When the Lord met with his disciples to partake of the Passover feast the day before his crucifixion, He instituted the Lord's Supper. Jesus took two items of the Passover meal and gave them new significance. The unleavened bread would represent his body (Mt. 26:26), and the fruit of the vine would symbolize the blood of Christ (Mt. 26:27, 29).
The Lord's Supper is a memorial to be used as a means of remembrance of his great sacrifice. The Supper is also a communion; a participation with the Lord. It too is identified as a proclamation. We "proclaim the Lord's death till he come" (I Cor. 11:26).
It is observed by Christians on the first day of every week. The early church assembled (Acts 11 :26, 14:23; Heb. 10:25). The church assembled on the Lord's day, the first day of the week (Acts 20:7; I Cor. 16:2; Rev. 1:10). The church assembled on the first day of the week to, (among other things), observe the Lord's Supper (Acts 2:42, 20:7; I Cor. 11:20, 14:23, 16:2). Assembly was required and practiced, the day of assembly specified, and the purpose was stated. So the "church of the Lord" assembles around the "Lord's Table" to eat the "Lord's Supper" on the "Lord's Day".
The emblems used came from the Jewish Passover feast. Unleavened bread is the only bread acceptable to be used in the Lord's Supper. A modern day soda cracker would not be authorized because it contains leavening agents. Genemato tas ampelou (Greek),"fruit of the vine" is specified as the emblem that symbolized the blood. The Greek word translated wine (oinos) that can mean an alcholic beverage or simply the juice of the grape is not used. The words Jesus used when instituting the Lord's Supper, ("fruit of the vine"), cannot be alcoholic wine because "fruit of the vine" is neyet used when alcoholic beverage is referred to. Remember the emblems came from the Passover feast. During Passover, all leavening agents had to be out of the house. This would have made it impossible for it to have been alcoholic wine that Jesus used since it would have had a leavening agent. If we accept the teaching of the scriptures, we will not use alcoholic wine in the Lord's Supper.
The observance of the Lord's Supper is a wonderful privilege. We are certainly blessed as we are reminded of the death of Christ each Sunday.